Saturday, October 8, 2011

Operation New-Knee-For-Chase is officially a go!

I realize its been a while since I have updated this thing, I might have forgotten about it. That probably tells you what my journal looks like: one page I'm partying with all of my girl friends talking about how great the single life is the next page I'm married and its the happiest day of my life. Haha.

Alright let me think of what all has happened...

Chase's second doctor visit went well. They took out the staples in his left arm and gave him a cast for his right.  It had been about 3 weeks since the accident and we were both wondering about his knee. Dr. Redd told us once we finish with Chases arms we would move on to the leg.  Two weeks later we come back! Doctor visit number three consisted of the rods in Chases right arm being taken out. It went kind of something like this: Dr. Redd grabbed some a pair of pliers, wiggle wiggle wiggle, yank! (x2) We got to keep those as souvenirs, Yes! At long last the doctor started looking at Chases knee. He pushed and pulled while I watched a knee move in a way it shouldnt. Dr Redd scheduled an MRI for us at teton radiology the next day (last Friday).

Chase has also started physical therapy! I could probably describe PT for chase in a few words, painful, mean, and all other synonyms for those words. I go every now and then just to make sure Chase is being tough.

We got the results of the MRI this past Tuesday and was asked to come back to Dr. Redd's office on Thurday. Chase has a torn ACL and PCL. Together these two ligaments keep the knee from sliding back and forth. There are also a couple of tares in his meniscus. Dr Redd referred us to another specialist for the surgery, he didnt feel comfortable reconstructing both the ACL and PCL.  Our appointment with Dr. Andere is Monday and we will figure out when the surgery will be scheduled.

I have yet another song from Chase that I know all of you are anxious to hear. It was a Sunday morning about three weeks ago (back when Chase was incapable of wiping his...well...) and I was in the living  room eating my morning granola; Chase calls to me from the bathroom. I took a deep breath while I walked down the hall to the bathroom. I'm sure you're familiar with the famous foldgers coffee jingle: "The best part of waking up, is foldgers in your cup!" Chase put his own spin on it when I came to the bathroom door: "The best part of waking up, is wiping Chase Clarks butt!" I couldnt even be mad. It was hilarious.